Gif of LNWR Emblem
London & North Western Railway Society
Glossary for the LNWR Society

Glossary Results for Word "Southern Division"

Southern Division One of the three divisions set up when the LNWR was formed on 16th July 1846, the others being the North Eastern DivisionExplain 'North Eastern Division' and the Northern DivisionExplain 'Northern Division'. All three had their own operating methods and workshops for locomotive etc., those of the Southern Division being at Wolverton and Euston. The area administered by the Southern Division was primarily the old L&BRlyExplain 'London & Birmingham Railway (LBR)' and branches, eventually all lines south of Stafford. The Northern and Southern Division locomotive departments were merged in 1862 (the North Eastern Division having been amalgamated into the Northern Division in 1857) but much of the administration remained separate until formation of the LMS in 1923.